Home » Jurnal » Goodbye doesn’t mean forever, Dublin

Goodbye doesn’t mean forever, Dublin

An old woman is approaching my seat. I try to hide my face in my napkin.

‘Oh, sweet little girl, why are you crying your heart out like this?’

‘Because…I’m leaving this city and I just can’t help it. I always feel like all the places I’ve been to are home to me, one way or another.’

‘But you aren’t leaving it, darling. It will always dwell within you. Once you’ve been to Dublin, it’ll be a part of you forever. And you’ll forever be a part of it. Now chin up and enjoy your flight, okay?’

I smiled. Okay. Maybe next time I’ll get the chance to say a proper hello and goodbye to the stray fox roaming around Waterloo Street.

Leave a Reply

